Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Tournament Poker > MTT Strategy
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-23-2006, 10:23 PM

Default Preflop push with QQ in Live MTT??

This is a live tourney, my apologies if the structure of this post is poor.

NLHE $100+$10 36 player tourney.
Starting stacks 5000t.
30 minute blinds with Level 1 @ 25/50.
Hand #4
Stacks are as closely as follows:

Hero - 4950t
BB - 4700t
UTG - 4900t
UTG+1 - 3950t
MP1 - 5000t
MP2 - 4950t
MP3 - 4975t
CO - 4900t
Button(Villain)- 6675t

Pre-flop: Hero is SB with Qs, Qc.
Hero posts SB 25.
BB posts 50.
Folds around to Button.
Button raises 150 to 200t.
Hero raises 350 to 550t.
BB folds.
Button re-raises 1700 to 2250t.
Hero's action?

Background info/reads/thoughts:
It's the beginning of a live MTT. MTT is a regular tourney and it is my first time playing at that venue. The party I was with told me that the villain had won the previous MTT and was a pretty solid and aggressive player. Villain has played every hand dealt so far. Villain raked in a pretty decent pot on the very first hand. He limped UTG with A4s and flopped top pair with 4 to nut flush. 5 limpers in the pot, he pot size bets the flop, 2 callers. Check/calls the turn, one player folds. Leads out the river after the 4th suit hits the board, other player folds, villain shows nut flush. He also won a decent pot on the 2nd hand without a showdown.
It's tough to say how he plays based on seeing just 3 hands. This leads me to the hand in question.

It folds around to the Villain who's on the button. He throws in a 3xBB raise. My first thought is that he's stealing the blinds. After all, he is the chip leader at the table and who really wants to tangle with him at an early stage of the tourney?
My range for the Villain is PP 22-AA, AK-AT, KQ-KT,QJ-89s.
Maybe he's creative and is stealing with 65s.