Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > High Stakes
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-21-2006, 06:45 AM

Default Tight passive underbetting donk monkey leads river

5/10 NL. $1300 effective stacks. Live game. 9 Handed.

Tight passive donkey is on my right. He's middle aged and looks like a biker. He has tattoos all over his arms and chest. He's wearing Harley Davidson sunglasses. He is big and about 75 lbs overweight. He's sporting two days of stubble. We convinced him earlier that a four flush is 50% to hit by the river. He's been babbling about how he likes the play of the guy on my left(a good player who makes pot sized bets), and me, and that suspects that I am a professional player.

Earlier I watched him fold QJs in the BB to a steal and tell me it's not a good hand to call raises with, but is a great limping hand. He's upset about having to fold it but he does quickly.

I also watched him limp UTG with KK then call the BB's all in for 100 in a straddled pot. 5 others called to and he bet 100 into the 600 pot on a JT5 two diamond flop, and overcalled two shorties who moved in for $260 total, then checked it down with the only live player(behind him) left in the pot.

He ends up winning a huge pot, and says "How can I get off of that hand? Nothing I can do, right? I mean, I've had kings three times today... but kings don't usually win... you know, unless you just go all-in pre-flop."

"I lost with the other two kings." All the good players nod and giggle inside, shoot a couple of knowing glances, and think about how nice it is to have a tight passive underbetting monkey in our game.

He has been limping a lot in middle/late and folding to my raises from late. I've been raising a lot from late, and he's been asking me when I'm going to stop raising so much. I tell him I've been getting aces and kings almost every hand since I sat down.