Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Limit
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-17-2006, 09:33 AM

Default Foxwoods 5/10 Kill Hand

I'm at the Foxwoods 5/10 kill (10/20 half the time, when the previous pot was over $100, until the pot is less than $100). It's a 5/10 game that plays 10/20 half the time with players who have no business at 2/4. I'm new at the table from a broken game and don't have reliable reads yet. The villain is neither an Internet hotshot nor a retired nit. He's about 28 to 35 wearing a Yankee hat.

I am already making bad preflop decisions trying to get out of a $600 suckout hole, and I limp for $10 with 53s on the button with 3 limpers. Raised to $20 by the BB and 6 take the flop at $20.

Flop is 8-5-3 rainbow. Bet from the BB, a few folds to middle position who makes it $20, and I make it $30. BB caps, MP calls 3 bets cold, and 3 players take the turn @ $40.

Turn is a 3. Another bet from BB, MP finally folds, and I raise to $40. BB calls, then says this while before the dealer tables the river card;

"You have a boat down there, don't you?"

The river is a Q and BB bets.

Your action......
Old 04-17-2006, 10:19 AM

Default Re: Foxwoods 5/10 Kill Hand

allin :f
Old 04-17-2006, 11:29 AM

A fold is incredibly sissy and a raise has little value. So yeah, you just call and hope he's got two pair. Players make these comments all the time to try misleading you into thinking you're in trouble. (e.g."You got a higher flush?" when the flop is monotone.)

While it is hard to believe he's going to bet into you with an unimproved hand when there is obvious boat potential, it's a kill pot and sometimes people do crazy things.
Old 04-17-2006, 11:39 AM

This is what I thought of his quote;

Either

A) He's pissed off that I've got his QQ-AA destroyed.

B) He is baiting me and is already top full, with 88.

Then the river comes and he bets out.