Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Theory
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-03-2006, 06:13 PM

Default Question about pot odds and str8 draw

Hi, I am new to poker, well have been playing for over a year now, but still consider myself a newbie. I am confused about the concept of pot odd and str8 draw, I know I am about 5 to 1 to make it on the next card or about 1 to 2 to make it by the river. I read on SSH that I need 4 opponents to draw profitably, thus if I raise a draw into 3 players in theory I should be making a mistake if I am not raising for a free card. Lets say I have 65s and the flop is 34Q rainbow, and assuming no one has a set, don't I have 32% pot equity in a 4 handed hand? Isn't that 6% more than my fair share of 25%? I know that I may have to call a bet on the turn, but doesn't it make sense to put your money in when you are a favourite to win? If I am making a mistake then how could I be making money too? Hope someone can help me out and explain this. I am really confused right now. [img]/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
Old 04-03-2006, 07:27 PM

Default Re: Question about pot odds and str8 draw

[ QUOTE ]
Hi, I am new to poker, well have been playing for over a year now, but still consider myself a newbie. I am confused about the concept of pot odd and str8 draw, I know I am about 5 to 1 to make it on the next card or about 1 to 2 to make it by the river.

[/ QUOTE ]

Actually you're not 1 to 2 to make it by the river. You have roughly a 32% chance to win with your eight straight outs. Thus you are a little less than 1 in 3 to win which is why you need four people to draw profitably. This is discounting implied odds on their calling you if you make your straight; but I don't think that relates to your question.

[ QUOTE ]