Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Beats, Brags, and Variance
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-09-2006, 03:08 AM

Default Atrocious Downswing - need help

Ok I'm starting to get a little scared.

I finished university in December. I plan to go travelling by May. Right now poker is my only source of income and I was hoping I could keep it that way until I went travelling because I don't really want to get a job. I didn't play too much over the holidays because I was busy with family and getting drunk with friends and what not.

It wasn't until this week that I started playing a reasonable amount of hands.
The past 2 days have been absolutely heartbreaking.

Over 1,790 hands I'm down 131 BB's. I really don't know how this compares to other downswings, but is this really in the realm of possibility without atrocious play on my part? I know there were some times I made some questionable plays but for the most part I maintained my cool. Maybe we can account 10-20 of those lost BB's to tilt but that's just a guess. I would say no more than that though.

This is really starting to scare me. I play 5/10 at Stars. This downswing has eaten up almost 1/3 of my bankroll and I don't even know if it's going to stop. Here I am thinking I could make a fairly comfortable living and savings off 4-8 tabling but this doesn't appear to be the case any more. In 2005 I had 2.69BB/100 over roughly 30,000 hands.

I think the new VIP program may have something to do with this. The tables are definitely alot TAGier than before.
I also think the fact that I am almost forcing myself to play is having a negative effect. Before I would just play when I could for fun...it was my hobby and a decent source of income. But now it is essentially my job and I feel I need to put in hours even when sometimes I don't really feel like playing.