Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-27-2006, 05:18 PM

Default Ask Joker about the TV industry

I started as a story analyst for Showtime, then became a casting director for a year and a half doing various reality shows, and just this month started working as a development writer -- helping create, pitch, and craft treatments for reality shows, game shows, and potentially scripted programming as well.

I've optioned a television pilot of my own (a one-hour drama), have a Master's in film production, and seven feature screenplays completed as well. I suppose you can ask me about journalism too, since I've been a professional movie and music critic and reporter in the past, during college, grad school, and early years in Los Angeles.

-joker
Old 03-27-2006, 05:19 PM

Default Re: Ask Joker about the TV industry

How "real" are reality shows?
Old 03-27-2006, 05:24 PM

As a casting director, did you get an incredible amount of ass?

Are show business executives as psycho and assholish as they are often depicted?
Old 03-27-2006, 05:26 PM

Best show on TV atm?
Old 03-27-2006, 05:34 PM

[ QUOTE ]
How "real" are reality shows?

[/ QUOTE ]

It varies. In general, they are fairly real, and less staged than your average cynical viewer would suspect. For example, the screaming Christian lady on "Trading Spouses" that got a lot of press this year for her rant (a moment that was accused by some as acting); that was totally unexpected and handled well by a camera crew trying to keep up. The cast members are rarely actors -- the only time you'll find an 'actor' cast in a reality part is when they've done community theater or a C-grade indie horror film and are trying to get noticed, so they'll do reality just to get exposure and jumpstart their career. Doesn't mean they're acting during the show.