Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Poker > Other Poker Games
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-22-2006, 02:55 PM

Default 2-7 draw or pat?

10/20 2-7 triple draw online.

i am a beginner at this game- i played my first hand last week. i am a very experienced holdem and stud player but i have never played any sort of draw poker seriously- so feel free to explain even elementary points.

4 handed, hero is BB

CO raises, button calls, SB calls, hero calls in BB with k8754.

sb takes 2, hero takes 1 (?), CO takes 2, button takes 2.

hero draws 87543. SB checks, hero bets, all 3 call.

sb draws 1, hero...draw or stand pat?

(Button draws loosely on all streets even when 2 cards behind raiser. CO is fairly loose but likes to stand pat early if he can, and then check river. SB is very tight aggressive. both CO and button consider me very LAG in early rounds)

thanks for your help
Old 03-22-2006, 03:03 PM

Default Re: 2-7 draw or pat?

I've never played above 2/4 so take anything I say with a grain of salt.

I'm pat on the second draw and betting. If the TAG is pat for the third draw, I consider breaking or just calling if he bets. If TAG takes a card on the third draw, then I bet the river.
Old 03-22-2006, 03:51 PM

predraw i would take two cards rather than one. as played you have to stand pat and hope for hte best; you can only improve by drawing a deuce, so theres really no point.
Old 03-22-2006, 04:01 PM

[ QUOTE ]
you can only improve by drawing a deuce, so theres really no point.

[/ QUOTE ]

i feel stupid for completely missing that a 6 was a straight.
say i had 87542 instead. draw or stand pat on the 2nd draw?
Old 03-22-2006, 04:52 PM