Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Legislation
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-20-2006, 04:31 AM

Default Potential Bill Will NOT End Internet Gambling

Ok, I'm sorry to have to do this, but I must. There seems to be a lot of worry about this potential legislation being passed. This needs to stop.

First: Establishing my credibility. I interned in a Senate Member office in the Fall of 2001. I am a recent law school graduate (though not a lawyer, bar results pending) and I have worked in the Department of Justice, Federal Trade Commission, and the Department of Commerce (i.e. executive enforcement agency). So, I have some experience.

Let's talk reality:

1. Previous versions of this bill have failed prior to this one. There is nothing in this bill that makes it amazingly different from the others.

2. This is not the type of thing that ANYONE will go all out for. That is, if something needs to be cropped to get some riding bill through, this would be the first to go.

3. I personally think this is just an example of political ballyhoo, so this radical right-wing sponsor can impress his radical right-wing constituents. Half his district hasn't seen a x386, let alone Internet access. He'll huff and puff, and really won't care if it passes or not so long as he looks good in the process. This kind of bull happens all the time, which is why our country is in such a shithole right now.

EVEN IF THE BILL PASSES:

Ok, let's really talk turkey. Say it passes:

1. First, someone is going to have to care enough to enforce it. By someone, I mean DOJ or Homeland Security or FTC or whoever would handle this stuff. These agencies tend to not give a [censored] as to what Congress instructs, unless they really get pushed with a lot of political pressure.