Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Tournament Poker > MTT Strategy
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-17-2006, 01:30 PM

Default QQ 6 handed FT of WSOP sat advice requested

Setup: I'm new to the WSOP qualifiers, and have started to play sat qualifiers to the bigger 'real WSOP qualifiers' at Full Tilt and Stars. This came up yesterday and wanted your opinions...

This is a Stars Double Shootout WSOP qualifier sat (the $16 ones), I won the first table and we were down to 6 handed play here at the FT. Players were all pretty loose, we had 4 down by this blind level and all in moves were pretty common. I've seen everyone at the table make moves/calls with less than premium hands, the chip leader (MP) in particular had played about 80% of the pots to this point.

Here is the hand in question.

PokerStars No-Limit Hold'em Tourney, Big Blind is t50 (6 handed) internettexasholdem.com

MP (t4610)
CO (t4307)
Button (t1775)
Hero (t2045)
BB (t1998)
UTG (t265)

Preflop: Hero is SB with Q[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img], Q[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img].
<font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, <font color="#CC3333">MP raises to t200</font>, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, Button calls t200, Hero calls t175, <font color="#CC3333">BB raises to t650</font>, MP folds, Button calls t450, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises to t2070</font>, BB calls t1348 (All-In), Button folds.

So, to my decisions here:

a) Is just calling the initial raise by MP that the button called too a mistake? Should I be the one popping it up or pusing at that point perhaps?

b) When I call and the BB raises it, but only to 650, does that scream AA/KK or what? When MP folded but the button called, I put them both on AK or smaller PP - KK/AA, not exclusively AA/KK. With that range, I have me at a 55-45 advantage, is that range too big / a major leak perhaps?