Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Gambling > Sports Betting
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-13-2006, 11:45 AM

Default Champions League Inter - Ajax

First of all, I am new to sportsbetting and just trying to learn it. Are soccer matches ever a good bet? Seeing how there are three possible outcomes I can imagine they're never really good. However, I noticed these lines at pinnacle, unibet and ladbrokes respectively

Inter Draw Ajax
-210 300 605 (pinnacle)
-250 300 765 (unibet listed as 1.40 / 4.00 / 8.65)
-250 375 700 (ladbrokes listed as 2/5 11/4 and 6/1)

Considering pinnacle is an american bookie, and the european ones are giving a worse line on the favorite, do you think the line on Inter would be a good one? I am trying to learn how this entire sportsbetting issue works. There is no doubt that Inter is much better than Ajax, but in this particular game they do not need to win to advance, they are ok with a draw. (and all they are looking for is to advance) I'll keep track of a "fake sportsbet" record to see how I'm doing. In this case I'd bet 2.1 units on Inter's line at pinnacle and 0.4 unit on the draw at ladbrokes.

Edit: Also, Inter has homefield advantage
Old 03-13-2006, 05:07 PM

Default Re: Champions League Inter - Ajax

You're effectively getting -800 on Inter +1/2 goal. Will Ajax win this match one time in nine? In soccer, it's quite rare for a team not to have that kind of chance. Poisson calcutions based on Pinny's line and total say that Ajax wins outright >15%. I say this bet is very -EV, as soccer favorites nearly always are, especially against the 1X2 lines.
Old 03-13-2006, 06:52 PM

Hi Vic,

I'm no sharp, but I'm curious about the betting amounts you listed: 2.1 units on Inter, .4 units on draw. By my calculation:

Inter wins: +1 unit -.4 units = +.6 units.
draw: +(.4)*(3.75) - 2.1 = 1.5 - 2.1 = -.6 units.