Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Internet Gambling > Internet Gambling
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-12-2006, 02:04 PM

Default My tax story

Okay, I just completed my return and I wanna punch someone in the face. I'm only 5'10", 175 lbs so it won't hurt bad. Any takers? [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

Here's my story:

I'm a teacher/Ahletic Director/Coach. I've been blessed to make $53k this year (my 5th with my school). Pretty good for a gym teacher. My wife busts HER ASS as a manager of a pretty big retail outfit, not to mention raising our two kids. She made about 32k last year.

I started Jan 05 grinding 2/4 full LHE games and progressed to 5/10 near the end of the year. My winrates weren't great, and I don't play a ton, but I did manage to make $8,000 playing poker. That gives us about $93k in income for the year.

First I filed my taxes like I didn't even play poker, taking just the standard $10k deduction. In that circumstance, the gubment would've owed US $3,000.

Filing using the EACH DAY is a session method brought our income up to $123k for the year. After deducting losses, I found we would owe $2,200. Does this mean I'm paying $2200 on an $8,000 gambling win? Just want to make sure I'm thinking clearly.

Out of curiousity, I ran the #s using each TABLE session as a session. I.E. If I played 3 hands at a table and lost $50 and left, that was a session.

In this situation, my reported poker income nearly doubled, although the deductions obviously were proportionately greater. However, doing the math this way, I would've owed the gubment $3700 instad of $2200!!!!!!!!!!

So, it's obviously going to help people to file defining every day as a session.

My biggest disappointment is this: Without poker, I would get 3k back. With poker, I give up $2200. That's a 5k swing. So, in actuality the $8k that I grinded out last year is really only $3k. Kind of kills the hourly!!!!!