Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Internet Gambling > Internet Gambling
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 03-06-2006, 07:14 PM

Default Giving up online poker because of parents (long)

I have played house games of poker since I have been 16, playing with friends and family. At the time, gambling was never a problem with my parents, even when I would lose money playing. I was playing poker "for fun", and they were fine with that. I am currently a second year student at UT Austin, in the McCombs Business School and my parents support me financially.

I started playing poker online last year at Party. After a series of bad beats, I gave up online poker for good (or so I thought), believing that it was "rigged". I played live games here and there, but nothing serious.

This year has been much different from last. My roomate plays high stakes hold'em and earns more in a month than most people earn in a year. I look up to him in the sense that he is "my mentor" about the game. He is always helping me with my play, table/hand selection, and bankroll control.

I put a small amount money into Pacific, and wanted to test my skills, seeing how much I have learned sense Party. I have been playing S&G HU and Small Tourneys for the past couple of weeks.

The result? I have made close to 13 times my orignal deposit in less than 2 weeks. I believe that is a good return for getting back into the game.