Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Tournament Poker > MTT Strategy
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-03-2006, 05:06 PM

Default My story

This probably shouldn't be posted here, but I like this forum the best so I posted it here anyways. Well, I turned 18 today. That's besides the point, but anyways, I started playing poker seriously about a year ago. After making about 1500 dollars last summer playing low-stakes cash games, I decided I'd make a deposit on Stars. I played very rarely because of all the school activities I was involved in. (football, basketball, and I'm second in my class)However, after winning the $3 rebuy and doing well 4-tabling $200 nl, I had about a $10,000 bankroll by mid-January. I cashed $5,000 out and put it into a mutual fund. The success continued and by mid-February I had about an $8500 bankroll. One night I decided I'd play 5-10 nl; just one table i told myself, try the level out. In about 100 hands I tripled up for a $2,000 dollar profit. Well, this was the absolute worst possible thing that could have happened and to make a long story short, I got dumb, cocky and pissed away 10,000 dollars in about 2 weeks.
Now, my real reason for posting is to get thoughts, ideas on how to rebuild a bankroll ( I have about $500 in my stars account) and hear other similiar stories. ( I think I remember Ansky telling a similiar story about him blowing a roll) Anyways, any comments, thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks for listening.
Old 03-03-2006, 05:10 PM

Default Re: My story

[ QUOTE ]
Now, my real reason for posting is to get thoughts, ideas on how to rebuild a bankroll ( I have about $500 in my stars account) and hear other similiar stories. ( I think I remember Ansky telling a similiar story about him blowing a roll) Anyways, any comments, thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks for listening.

[/ QUOTE ]

Same way you built it to begin with.