Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 09-26-2007, 03:21 PM

Default A list of newbie questions.

I am a newbie to small stakes games (having graduated from micros recently). I wanted to ask a lot of questions that I think might also interest other newbies like me. I made this as a kind of list, I think it is way easier this way.

I have cruised through a list of "legendary threads" posted here yesterday, and I learned a lot, but don't remember seeing the answers to these questions, and some posts are very old, and the metagame might have changed. So if I ask something that was answered clearly elsewhere, excuse me, it isn't that I don't care, it is that I made a mistake.

Onto the questions;

[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] To put it frankly, I have only recently discovered (on these forums) that rivers are bluffable. Is there an estimation of the percentage of river bluffs one has to make? Like, if you are bluffing 15% of rivers, you are probably also bluffing in unprofitable situations etc.

[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] More on the river bluffs. On the hands that people post and ask for advice, they are usually told to bet more on the river when they have a good hand, and bet less when they are bluffing. Basically, people are told to bluff almost exactly half the pot when bluff, and bet the pot when they are strong. Am I misunderstanding something? Are these advices wrong? If not, what other bets are we making half the pot to disguise our bluff?