Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-23-2007, 11:09 PM

Default Starting Over

Hi all,

Let me introduce myself. I started playing poker early last year. I only played for about 4 months then I quit. I was never a winning player due to several obvious reasons that I'm sure some of you can relate. I was never a student of bankroll management. I would deposit a twenty, play NL10, bring the roll up to $100, then play NL100, win a couple of buy-ins and poof, we all know how the story ends. This happened to me several times. I even invested in Pokertracker but hey, what was the point. Never used it. Clever me right? I also joined CR but hey, those videos never help right? So in the end after the frustration and all that goes with it, I decided to quit. That was then, and this in now.

I've decided to take this game seriously. I need help. I've been working on a personal project but unfortunately haven't been able to finish it because of my 9-5 job. I've decided to take 6 months off starting next May and get a part-time job. I'm hoping that by May, I will be able to play 5/10 live ( I live in Los Angeles.)

Here is my plan so far. Please fill free to chime in.

1. Deposit $200 at Fulltilt or Pokerstars.

2. Learn how to use Pokertracker.

3. Practice bankroll management religiously.

4. I'll start playing NL10 until I reach thirty $25 buy-ins. Play the NL25 until I reach thirty $50 buy-ins. My first question is - I've never really paid too much attention to winrate stats. What is the winrate that I should be content with before moving up?

5. My next question is - In order for me to beat the 5/10 live game here in Los Angeles, which stakes should I be beating online? I've played live before at Hollywood Park and actually won on all those occasions (about 4 in total playing the 1/2 $40 buy-in.)