Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-08-2007, 04:07 PM

Default boggled by pot odds

Please bear with me as I launch another noob-tastic question at ya'all...

I'm still studying Sklansky's small-stakes book and I'm having trouble wrapping my head around pot odds. I can follow what's being said about things like calling a 4$ bet to win a 40$ bet so my odds are 40-4 or 10-1, BUT... that's not quite my problem. My math is sketchy sometimes, but I mean, I can follow this. What I can't follow is the reasoning.

The way it looks to me is that I'm NOT risking 4$ to win 40$ at 10:1 odds. What I'm really risking (throughout the play of the whole hand) is EVERY dollar I've put into the pot so far, trying to win that pot. Thus, winning ONE 40$ pot out of ten hands that have played similarly (and cost me far more than 40$ in total bets) does NOT make me any profit. There's no way I want to lose 9 similar hands for the 1 chance to hit a big pot, I'll go broke before then.

So, I know there's a logic to only valuing a single bet against whatever's in the pot to determine your odds, but I can't see it. All I know is that it takes more than that one bet to get me however far into a hand I am, and if I'm not winning the hand 9 out of 10 times, why the heck should I play it at all, let alone continue it for more bets just because the "odds are good"?
Old 09-08-2007, 04:32 PM

Default Re: boggled by pot odds

Any money that's already in the pot is not yours any more.

I buy a used car for $2000. The book value of the car is $2000 because I sux at negotiating.

I drive it a bit, something goes wrong, and I need a $200 repair.

By your logic above, I should just go buy another car. Because in effect, I'm paying $2200 for a $2000 car.

I should just go buy another $2000 car instead, right?
Old 09-08-2007, 04:34 PM