Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Tournament Poker > MTT Strategy
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-07-2007, 10:54 PM

Default Number of Rebuy Strategy

In a $4 entry satellite to a $109 entry fee t'ment, how much would most of you be willing to commit in rebuys ($4) during first level(i.e. Bodog qualifier to $100K) to attempt to compete once rebuy period ends?
Old 09-08-2007, 01:41 AM

Default Re: Number of Rebuy Strategy

I'm not a rebuy expert by any means, but when I play them I don't like to put a figure on how many rebuys I'm going to be willing to commit. I believe it all depends on table conditions, and the cards you are picking up. Sometimes I've only had to rebuy once, the one before the tourney even begins, because I'm able to double up a few times with premium hands that hold up.

Other times I've had to rebuy 4 or 5 times in the first 10 minutes because my premium and semi premium hands have been cracked over and over. You have to mix it up in rebuys, you can't just play ABC TAG poker, and I believe that putting a limit or stop loss on how much you're willing to commit can really tie your hands in a rebuy tourney.

But I guess if I had to put a figure for the satelite you're trying to get into, I would say around $20-$24. I would think you would be able to qualify within 2 or 3 tries if you spent up to $24 or so, and this would still put you well below the $109 straight buy in to that 100k tourney. Of course this is assuming you're well rolled to invest $20+ each try.
Old 09-08-2007, 10:07 AM

I've only played in 3 of these. It looks like if you can double up and then add on at break, you are fine is chip stack to compete. I've been trying not to invest more than $12, but again I wanted to see if I was thinking too tight. They start with $1000 in chips and after rebuy period average stack is around $3000.
Old 09-08-2007, 11:57 AM

It's a function of the table, no?