Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Medium Stakes
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-03-2007, 07:05 PM

Default Very deep HU versus a maniac

This hand is going to look pretty sucky I think but I am new to HU play and this guy did a very good job of turning me into a calling station!

Villain is playing a 48/48/6 game. He 3 bets every other button raise and is always in a hurry to get as many chips in the middle as possible. He double barrells everything for close to full pot whether it is a single raised or re-raised pot. When he gets 3 bet himself pre he either 4 bets 40%, folds 50% calls 10%. He is obviously spewing all over the place so I have played almost entirely passive and letting him hang himself. He has made some big triple barrells too usually betting close to full pot again if we get to the river. I have been playing him for close to 3 hours and he took 3 buyins off of me before I started my run. He also 4 bet allin pre-flop earlier with 77 which started my run when my TT held. He is very agro on every street.

The game dynamic has changed since I got ahead as he knows I am picking him off. Upto an hour earlier I had checked good hands to him on the river hoping for that big 3rd barrell but he checked a good few down. Since he has been less willing to fire the end big I have started river leading for value and he always tends to fold. When he has looked me up he has only seen me with the goods. He undoubtedly figures me for a calling station.

Full Tilt Poker - No Limit Hold'em Cash Game - $1/$2 Blinds - 2 Players - (LegoPoker Hand History Converter)

Hero (BB): $1,347.70
SB: $732.60

Preflop: Hero is dealt A[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] Q[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] (2 Players)
<font color="red">SB raises to $6.00</font>, <font color="red">Hero raises to $20.00</font>, SB calls $14.00