Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-28-2007, 01:59 PM

Default SnG Strategy

As a novice I was hoping some on this forum could odder some general strategy advice for playing SnGs at pokerstars. I have been playing on the same $30 dollars for well over a month now. However, the swings from almost breaking even to placing in the money on literally the last buy-in I can afford is getting very disheartening. It's like I'm in poker purgatory. I know my game has got unbelievable leaks, but I only started playing poker about 4 or 5 months ago. Any tips or advice would be welcome. Thanks in advance.
Old 08-28-2007, 02:12 PM

Default Re: SnG Strategy

1. You might get better answers in the STT strategy forum.

2. For a $30 bankroll, you should be playing $1 or perhaps $2 SnGs.

3. Read Dan Harrington on Holdem Volumes 1 and 2. They are not specifically for SnGs but they are for tournament style NL holdem which is very useful.

4. Play less hands. Fold after the flop unless you have a very good draw or a very good hand or stick around if you have middle pair but the betting is small compared to the size of the pot.

5. Forget about bluffing or slowplaying.
Old 08-28-2007, 02:32 PM

Read Harrington on Holdem Vol 1 and 2 before you play another SnG. After you finish vol 2, slap yourself for not reading them sooner.

After that, play the lowest buy in. If you play smart, and don't let the bad beats get to you, you'll slowly work your bankroll up.
Old 08-28-2007, 06:39 PM

[ QUOTE ]
Read Harrington on Holdem Vol 1 and 2 before you play another SnG. After you finish vol 2, slap yourself for not reading them sooner.

After that, play the lowest buy in. If you play smart, and don't let the bad beats get to you, you'll slowly work your bankroll up.

[/ QUOTE ]
Old 08-28-2007, 09:26 PM