Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Medium Stakes Limit
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-26-2007, 03:32 PM

Default 20-40 they all laughed at me... for an hour...

the game was 8 handed. UTG (old white dude) raises, I (obnoxious 20-something white kid) have AKo (no heart) and make it three next in, folded to the BB (solidish asian dude) who calls.

flop
987 all hearts
check, check, and i elected not to continuation bet for the first time ever at the table. i have an over-aggro internet kid image, though i am not sure anyone adjusts to it or not. actually i am fairly new to the table, but i lost 500$ (one rack) in about the first 15 minutes of play, and i have played with the asian dude previously and he definitely thinks i am maniacal.

turn A diamonds

Asian bets, white dude raises, I elect to???

in addition to weighing in on the correct play, i am curious as to how bad the alternatives are in the minds of 2+2ers.
Old 08-26-2007, 04:08 PM

Default Re: 20-40 they all laughed at me... for an hour...

Against most old white dudes, this is a fold.
Old 08-26-2007, 04:12 PM

seems like a clear fold to me. its just not a good place to put your money IMO. ... i guess 3-betting is better than calling if you really wanna see where you're at, but it just seems like a ridiculously large investment given the size of the pot, the board, and the action in front of you...
Old 08-26-2007, 04:14 PM

[ QUOTE ]
Against most old white dudes, this is a fold.

[/ QUOTE ]

he's no rock. maybe i should have expressed that. he is like other old white dudes in the sense that he is not a critical thinker and isn't a student of the game.
Old 08-26-2007, 04:23 PM

Just fold. Also checking this flop is really standard.

Nobody's folding anyhting. Ever.
Old 08-26-2007, 04:28 PM

[ QUOTE ]
seems like a clear fold to me. its just not a good place to put your money IMO. ...

[/ QUOTE ]