Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-15-2007, 04:33 PM

Default Greetings 2+2!

Hello, 2+2

In the somewhat recent past I was in AC and decided to join a Texas Hold’em tourney. The first night I made the final table and placed 5th, went back two nights later and took 1st. SOOooo naturally I have a poker gift (so I thought). I am going mad my mind is spinning I am questioning my-self on how could this be possible I am a PRO I AM READY FOR WSOP. Throw 200 bucks down on Full Tilt and I AM READY!! Needless to say I get owned not all at once but my money went to zero. I never herd of bankroll management, position, or pot odds etc… so set forth to educate myself and find out how I could have been so misfortunate I order “Theory of Poker”, “ “Hold’em poker for Advance Players” since I cant be a beginner, (hey I went to AC and destroyed them) and “Book of Poker Tells”… no beginner stuff for me I am ALMOST ready for WSOP.

So I noticed the website on the books and have been crawling around the forums under the radar for some time now. MAN I GOT LUCKY AS HELL. What a NOOB I am. Anyhow I have been studying TOP and almost finished reading HP for AP. Bought HOH vI and will be reading that next while studying HP for AP.

Do joined the forums because I think they have a lot to offer and plan on becoming a regular poster to learn and help when I can…

So now I am having a problem with odds and counting the percentage or probability on getting certain cards. How do you get the outs on a 3card flush or strait? Lets say you have (I will mess with the hand converter soon) Qh Js and the flop is 9h Jh As. I understand how to count the odds to make a set but with the Ace on the playing field, I want to calculate the possibility of the strait or flush hitting as well. How would you go about doing this?