Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Limit
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-14-2007, 12:57 PM

Default multiway hand ranges vs maniac raiser

OK so everyone knows the basic poker strategy to sit on a maniac's left and 3 bet him preflop with wide range of hands.

What if you dont have such position, but you're sitting at a game with lots of fish, thus making the game juicy enough to stay? Imagine that you're like 4-5 seats from the maniac. lets say he raises in EP. and like 3 fish cold call the raise...what are you calling with in LP? what about the small blind or big blind?
Old 08-14-2007, 01:18 PM

Default Re: multiway hand ranges vs maniac raiser

Personally I feel comfortable in this spot (or against a straddle) because I have a lot of experience in this kind of game. I have a pretty wide range:

All pocket pairs, first of all, reraising for value with TT+. Sets love action and you are bound to get all the action you can stand.

You should also salivate with any 2 suited broadways. Reraise AQ and of course, AK. The weaker ones, like JTs, QTs and KTs are a bit iffy. If you get another "action" player in there making it 3 bets frequently, then you should pass on those. Obviously you should tighten up tremendously if one of the fish pops it first...Danger Will Robinson!

Other suited stuff, like T9, J9 and 89 are marginal at best. If you feel confident post flop and don't mind the swings, you can splash around.

Offsuit hands, I only like AK and AQ. As for AJ and KQ, my comments are the same as those for the marginal suited stuff.
Old 08-14-2007, 01:25 PM

[ QUOTE ]
what about the small blind or big blind?

[/ QUOTE ]