Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-11-2007, 01:38 AM

Default Mixed Feelings

I am 18 years of age. I have been playing NLHE for about 3 years now with my friends. Playing against them I made probably about 2k. Virtually every cash game I played with them I made 6 or 7 times the buy-in. Even when I played a month or so ago with a guy I met at college and his friends which were known to be great at poker and big winners online, I still came out the big winner.

This is where the mixed feelings come in. I recently deposited 1k online and went busto within a month or two. I have to admit though that I did not use very good bankroll management at all. The first night I played 100 NL...

My question is, before I deposited online I was considering playing poker for a living after college...but since then I have had to reconsider. I am doubting my skills at a player, as I probably should be. I am not sure if these were just extremely soft games in real life, if the players were just better online, if bankroll management messed me up, or if I am simply better in real life.

So, in your guys opinion, should I still try to live my dream and try to play poker after college for a living?...or do you think that my online poker outcomes spoke loud and clear?

Thank you.
Old 08-11-2007, 02:01 AM

Default Re: Mixed Feelings

First off I will say I am no expert. I have heard it is extremely hard to make a living at poker and you should not give up your career for poker. Not sure why you went busto, but the difficulty of live games is the same difficulty of online games that have much lower stakes. So being successful at 100 NL live won't necessarily translate to success at 100 NL online.
Old 08-11-2007, 03:03 AM