Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-06-2007, 10:33 PM

Default Poker academy and training in general

Hello all,

I recently started practicing limit poker through Poker Academy Pro. I've read Getting Started in Hold 'em, Hold 'Em Poker, and I am currently studying Winning Low Limit Hold' Em, with plans to study Small Stakes Hold 'em: Winning Big With Expert Play next. I'm currently playing the full ring advanced limit game and breaking about even.

My plans were to continue practicing with PA Pro until I became a winner at full ring advanced (say, at least averaging 2BB per 100 hands over at least 10,000 hands) and then invest in poker tracker and start at the micro limits at Poker Stars for real money.

Is this a good plan? Is PA actually good preparation? Is PA at advanced even comparable to the lowest micro limit? Do my book selections seem reasonable? Any suggestions?

Thanks
Old 08-06-2007, 11:23 PM

Default Re: Poker academy and training in general

The books are a very good start. I played with simulators when I started too. (I have Turbo Texas Hold'em. I think PA is better.) Then, beating the simulator was a pretty good indicator that you could beat the lowest limits, but things have changed. The games are harder.

I'd still say it's helpful, but I don't know how the simulators compare to real games now. Certainly playing against real people is different and varies from table to table, site to site, and from one set of stakes to the next.

The amount of preparation you feel you need is up to you, but assuming it's not a problem if you happen to lose a small amount (say ~$25, or whatever the minimum deposit is), it sounds to me like you're ready to go ahead and jump into the lowest limit games and see how you do. (If losing that amount is a problem, don't play poker.)
Old 08-06-2007, 11:25 PM

There are two problems with PA.