Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Tournament Poker > STT Strategy
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-03-2007, 08:10 PM

Default Help me out with my $5.5 SNG\'s

I have been browsing this forum for a while now and I finally decided to sign up.
I have been playing (a lot of) poker since early may 2007.
I started with SNG's about a month ago.
I played about 90 $1.2 SNG's with ITM 51.2% ROI 16.1%.
I decided to try $5.5 SNG's.
I played my first two today, but did not make the money in either.
I have trimmed the HH's of both tourneys on FTR and I really want some advice on my play.
SNG 1
SNG 2

Thanks in advance!
Old 08-03-2007, 08:20 PM

Default Re: Help me out with my $5.5 SNG\'s

Looks like you got into trouble postflop in a couple hands. The big hand that stood out to me was hand #11 in SNG 1. I'm just shoving PF to avoid what happened to you. I'd suggest playing more...2 is not nearly enough SNGs to begin to be worried.

edit: I just realized that this isn't a turbo but you still want to avoid marginal spots postflop.
Old 08-03-2007, 08:26 PM

Thanks for the comment!
About SNG1 hand #11:
That guy was trying to steal a lot of pots and I had seen him fold to a reraise a couple of times earlier so I really thought he was full of air and I could make him fold.

Oh and about being worried, thats not so much the case. I just want to improve.
Old 08-03-2007, 08:45 PM

Just a quick comment on your results. It's a tiny sample, but your ITM is very high, and in particular is very high for your ROI, which suggests that you are crawling into the money with a microstack a lot. You might want to practice ICM and shortstack push/fold strategy for STTs to help you stop the blinds eating you up so badly.