Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Poker > Omaha High
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-02-2007, 10:15 PM

Default Playing against super-LAG opponents

I've been playing for a couple of months, mostly for fun and self improvement. I play the micro limits .2/.5 usually, and most of the time I come out of a session with 1 or 2 extra buyins. I noticed a huge leak in my game, though, and the reason I usually lose or break even in sessions where I'm ahead.
I'll stumble into a game with a player that raises every single hand, and bets a pot sized bet on every flop, no matter what it is. Of course, I notice the pattern after 2 or 3 hands, and decide to strip the fish of all his money. I call with hands that can hit big on the flop (top set, big draws, etc), and wait for a good spot to trap him and double up through him.

The problem is each preflop call costs me between 3 and 6 BBs, and most of the time I don't hit the flop or only hit a pair, and even against a lagtard I can't put all my money in the middle with crap. It's also impossible to bluff the guy by reraising him because he'll go all the way to showdown with very weak holdings like 6-high flushes, non-nut straights, etc. Sometimes I'll hit a good hand and get a good part of his stack, but other times (like today), I'll wait for 2 hours for a hand to trap him with, and never get one. Meanwhile, the 20c calls end up costing me a buyin and I didn't win a single penny from him.

One of my problems in PLO is that i'm not willing enough to put my money in the middle with non-nut hands like 2-pair, non-nut flushes, etc...against very tight opponents this usually works well because I can wait for the nuts to stack them. Against very agressive opponents, I just end up losing money instead of stripping the fish of his money like I intended.