Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Golf
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-29-2007, 02:48 PM

Default Tell me your secrets to get <=60y from the green to near the pin

I'm a beginner (played 9 or 18 holes about 12 times, no lessons as of yet) and this part of the game is demolishing me.

I simply cannot figure it out. It's causing me to shoot 95-115s when I think I could be consistently shooting a heck of a lot better.

I understand golf theory on paper (I know what effects where my ball goes but I don't know how to actually fix it).

A typical hole for me goes like this: 400y par 4

I drive it about 220-240y. It will either go in the fairway leaving me with a nice shot to the green or I'll be off somewhere in the rough or in the woods (hopefully it's playable!).

Cool now I'm about 170y to the hole. I'll use a 3i/4i hybrid here and most of the time I'll be near the green if I don't have a severe mis-hit.

The problem is when I'm about 20-60y away from the green itself. I either hit the ball like a retard (it goes less than 10y because I swung too soft) or I end up hitting it too hard and runs off the green leaving me with another chip.

I am not good enough to consistently hit the green on my approach shots, so I'm left with these type of chips on pretty much every hole.

It's now getting to the point where it's annoying me. I believe I hit a new phase in my game. From "super newbie who has fun 100% of the time" to "wtf I got a 6 on a par 4 that should have been a near-guaranteed par".

Help? [img]/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Old 07-29-2007, 03:42 PM

Default Re: Tell me your secrets to get <=60y from the green to near the pin

accelerate thru the ball, really all there is to it. Sounds simple, but 80% of golfers fail to do it...
Old 07-29-2007, 03:55 PM