Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-23-2007, 06:19 PM

Default Balancing work and poker

I have been playing poker on and off for about 4 years. Recently, I started to ramp up my focus on the game by reading more, playing more, etc. I'm really getting "in" to the game - not really from a gamblin perspective, but from a pure interest in the concepts and strategies of the game.

The problem is that I have a regular job - and it's pretty good - 75K+/year , pretty interesting work, and very easy/low pressure. But sometimes, especially when work is slow - which is often - i can't stop thinking about poker. I'm always tempted to open a poker book or check out a poker website at work.

I play fairly low stakes, so I'm not ready to go pro and quit my job - not even close - my goal is more to supplement my income with poker for now.

Anyone else have this issue? Is there a mental trick you take to "turn off" poker and focus on work for a few hours a day?
Old 07-23-2007, 07:31 PM

Default Re: Balancing work and poker

Dive in and read all you want. This feeling will shrink in time and you will have put it to good use.
Old 07-24-2007, 12:55 AM

Like anything you get in to, you tend to think about it alot. Once you are successful at it, I think it becomes second nature. Ideally, you have some friends you can share it with. I have an awesome girlfriend who I talk to about it. Unfortunately, she wont let me go pro, and I dont want to. But I do use it to supplement my income.
You just have to be able to focus on your duties...its when your mind is stagnant that poker comes to mind.
Old 07-24-2007, 09:28 AM