Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-20-2007, 03:25 PM

Default Can this be sustained? When should I move up?

I've been a breakeven tournament player for a while, but I just started playing cash games again at $2NL. I'm surprised at how easy it is to win, but I'm wondering if I'm just running good. I've got about 3500 hands and I'm winning 14BB/100 hands. I know that's probably not enough hands to say anything, but each session seems so easy.

I'll admit I've had good swings before, but I was playing weak-tight and most of my success was just a good run of cards. I bled it off over the next few months. Then I got more aggressive, but was weak after the flop. I lost a lot that way and gave up on cash games. What I see now is a lot of opponents that play like I used to play and I just run over them. So most of my winnings come from just taking down pots that I have no right to. It seems like a winning formula. The only losing sessions I've had over the past month are when I get tired and just do something absolutely stupid, i.e., right read, wrong play.

I've got about 4k in my bankroll and I'd like to progress quickly. Am I being overly optimistic? When does the competition get tougher? At what level should I expect some resistance to this style of play and what adjustments will I need to make?
Old 07-20-2007, 03:33 PM

Default Re: Can this be sustained? When should I move up?

3500 hands is about one or two days of sessions for most players.

When your running good, poker is the easiest game in the word. I'll wait for your following posts... My God no one folds... The river sucks... Do they hit every draw...

Some people on here are a bit crazy with there X hands means nothing statments, but 3500 is really really nothing.