Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Poker > Heads Up Poker
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-17-2007, 03:48 PM

Default C-Betting and Second barreling

Im just starting out HU games and all these complex postflop c-betting and second barreling has been spinning in my mind all day.

Lets pretend I am playing HU cashgame with loose passive Villain. She keeps calling my preflop raises with wide range of hands OOP. He also calls my c-bets very often.

Let's say Im SB with AK, I bet, she calls.
I miss the flop.
She checks, I c-bet, she calls.
How often are you planning to second barrel the turn?
And more importantly, on what kind of board do you prefer to 2-barrel? How about with a weak made hand, like small pocket pair?

What about if the villain seems somewhat solid, thinking player, Hero c-bets alot, and she seems to adjust and call loosely...
Hero is SB with QJo and raises, villain calls
Flop: 3 [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]4 [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]7 [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]
Villain checks, Hero c-bets, villain calls.
Turn: A [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]
Villain checks, Hero...bets 1/2-2/3 pot?
Obviously the ace is great turn card for second barreling, so I suppose I second barrel here very often.
But what if the turn comes out blank and I still got no hand. There is a good chance villain called me loosely because the flop was full of low cards and he obviously though I didnt really hit anything.
Wouldnt that make second barreling a nice option?

So I suppose I should c-bet ragged flops and flops with A or K most oftenly, but second barrel less on turn because villain is very likely to actually have something, often something he is planning to check-raise on turn.