Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Beats, Brags, and Variance
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-15-2007, 05:40 AM

Default Getting staked at 2/5 NL - what\'s standard for staking?

Hey guys,

I just came back from the greatest poker session of my life. I went to a local room as usual and was in the 1/2 NL $300 Max. My buddy there told me I should play in the 2/5 $500 Max game because it's super soft. Up until this point, 1/2 is the highest I've played, but the 1/2 game was all short stacks who were super tight, so I decided to switch to 2/5. I bought in for the chips I had at 1/2 ($464) and then played a hand. I'm a university student who about to start to dip into his line of credit, so after thinking for a bit, I thought that I should take my buddy up on his offer to stake me for 50%. It seemed like a good idea at the time to cut down the variance. And, I figured that, since it's roughly double, if I get staked for 50%, it's like I'm playing 1/2, except just against shittier players. So, my edge will be greater, but the variance will only be at 1/2 levels (since down 1BI @ $500, is only down $250 of my cash, which is equivalent to down 1BI @ 300 1/2).