Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-09-2007, 10:31 AM

Default General valuation question

I've studied some basic finance and accounting, and I was wondering if someone could point me to sources to learn about valuing private companies from the perspective of a strategic buyer (a conglomerate) and how to choose an appropriate discount rate.
Old 07-09-2007, 11:14 AM

Default Re: General valuation question

[ QUOTE ]
I've studied some basic finance and accounting, and I was wondering if someone could point me to sources to learn about valuing private companies from the perspective of a strategic buyer (a conglomerate) and how to choose an appropriate discount rate.

[/ QUOTE ]

i have no background in this so take that for what it's worth.

the valuation methodology should be relatively similar. the problem is that you don't get as much information.

if you are a conglomerate it depends on what you plan on doing with that company. the value of the company could be higher if you plan on taking it over and you have an expertise in that area. i.e. if kraft were to value some consumer food company, it could pay a higher price than, say boeing since the risk would be less (it has a customer base, is known for it and has synergies that would work. boeing would have to basically create a whole new branch). therefore, in this case, the risk would be lower and thus drop the discount rate.

if you are an expert manager, then more companies become valuable if they are being run currently by poor or mediocre management. again, here the value would be higher since risk can be lower due to expertise all else equal (and thus lower discount rate).

modeling is always part science part art, or so i've heard. there is probably no mathematical formula in which you can feed some variables and end up w/ a precise & robust discount rate.

hope this helps,