Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-04-2007, 03:56 PM

Default Sit N Go ROI too low for $5 level

I've been playing NL Holdem for a couple of years now and I've always considered myself a decent player, but I can't figure out why my ROI is so low at just the $5 SNG level.

About two months ago I started tracking my SNG tourneys for real, and since then I've played exactly 252 tournaments. My ITM% is 37.30% which I think is about average (though I'd like to get it up around 40-45%), but my ROI is only just 7.58%.

At first I started playing on UB where I did well, but a few weeks ago I deposited $50 on FTP and eventually got up to $95. I know that's pretty crappy, but I can't seem to break the $100 barrier so far. From $95, I went down all the way to $28, and now I'm back up to $75.

I always multi-table, playing usually 4 tourneys at a time, but sometimes 6. I don't think this is hurting me b/c I sometimes become impatient when I don't multi-table and that hurts my game even more.

I am wondering what would be a standard ROI for the $5 level? 20% or higher? It's so frustrating because I know I can do MUCH better than this!

A long time ago I made $1500 on Bodog in just a few weeks, but I decided to start over from scratch b/c I figure I can't move up levels until I can consistently beat the lower levels.

PS: Something to note is that I don't really use any tracking software. I own PokerOffice but don't really use it anymore, and I'm considering investing in PokerTracker, although I'm afraid I'd have no clue how to use it. I'd rather build up my bankroll some more before spending money on new software.

Any advice for me?
Old 07-04-2007, 04:24 PM

Default Re: Sit N Go ROI too low for $5 level

Seems your ITM is okay, so you're probably just getting a lot of 3rd places. Try an ICM (SnG Power Tools or SNG Wizard) to improve your game.