Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Books and Publications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-02-2007, 07:38 AM

Default Harrington on Hold\'em Vol. III - Contradiction

Hello. First time posting here on 2+2.
Now I am fairly new to poker, I bought the Harrington books and have read both Vol. I and II. These books have definitely helped and even though I have only read one other poker book (Phil Gordon's little Green Book) I am sure that these are one of the best, if not the best poker books. It just really shows how a poker player should perceive each hand in itself.

But there is one thing I have a problem with and I would like to post it here. I have a problem with Vol. III the Workbook Problem 19 Harrington versus Hansen - Playing a Medium Pair. The situations is this:

[ QUOTE ]
Late in the first day of a major tourament. Allen Cunningham in he big blind has a tiny stack with an M of 4. Gus Hansen is the big stack at the table hand has been his usual aggressive self. I'm your playing partner, and I'm on the button with a moderate stack and an M of 16.

[/ QUOTE ]

The actions is: The blinds are at $200/$400 and an ante of $50 so the pot is $1,050 to start with. The stacks of our three players are:
Cunningham: $4,400
Hansen: $27,000
Harrington: %18,000
Players A, B, C and all fold.
Gus raises to $1,300
Harrington has 7h7s
Harrington calls %1,300
Small blind folds.
Allen Cunningham pushes all-in for his last $4,000.
Gus Hansen calls $2,700
The pot is %10,350
Harrington calls $2,700
Flop is Kh5s4d
Gus bets $3,200
Harrington folds
Gus shows 7d5c
Cunningham shows QQ
Turn is T and river is 5
Gus wins with two pairs, a 7 and a 5.

Now Harrington analyzes the hand:
[ QUOTE ]
I actually liked this flop, with two cards below my sevens, but as soon as Gus bet I understood just how big a blunder I had made on my last turn.