Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-25-2007, 03:41 PM

Default Sticky situation at work...

I work in tech support for a company supporting product 'a'. Mid-May, I expressed interest in learning and supporting product 'b' to my manager. She and her boss managed to squash that fairly quickly. Yesterday, two positions were posted for product 'b'. Per company policy, I need my managers approval to apply. I just sent an email to my manager.

[ QUOTE ]

Manager,

There is an opening in product 'b' that I am interested in applying for. I wanted to run this by you. Please let me know what you think.

Regards,
'Chair

[/ QUOTE ]

am i just shooting myself in the foot w/ this?

btw, I have an off-the-record understanding with the manager of that product that the job is mine once I apply.
Old 06-25-2007, 03:46 PM

Default Re: Sticky situation at work...

[ QUOTE ]

am i just shooting myself in the foot w/ this?

[/ QUOTE ]

Most likely depends on whether your current manager knows that

[ QUOTE ]
I have an off-the-record understanding with the manager of that product that the job is mine once I apply.

[/ QUOTE ]

Also depends on which manager is better connected within the organization.
Old 06-25-2007, 03:46 PM

Managers who try and keep people who want out in, especially if it's for a good reason, are horrible.

If you know you'll get the b job, do it, and [censored] what the other manager thinks. Make yourself happy, don't work for [censored].

I can't believe that you need manager approval to move internally. That's just lame. Is this standard for private sector?
Old 06-25-2007, 04:35 PM

4_2_it - no, current manager does not know about my dialog with the other manager. Not sure which mgr is better connected.

Dids - I agree.

response from manager...
[ QUOTE ]

'Chari,