Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Health and Fitness
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-16-2007, 07:16 AM

Default Slight back pain after dumbbell deadlift

I'm new to working out.

I did deadlift yesterday, and my back hurts slightly. I wonder if this is normal, or your back should never hurt? FYI, I use one of those "workout belt."

Thanks

Soh
Old 06-16-2007, 11:02 AM

Default Re: Slight back pain after dumbbell deadlift

I was going to make a similar post but I'll just post here.

I did regular barbell deadlifts yesterday and had to stop three sets in because of some pain in my lower back area. Is this normal or ... bad? Maybe I was using too much weight? My form completely broke down after I started feeling the pain.
Old 06-16-2007, 01:42 PM

You should not be having any pain in your lower back (except for soreness/burn). If you are, dial back the amount of weight you are using and really focus on your form before gradually adding it back, injuring your lower back is not fun so be extra careful is my advice.
Old 06-16-2007, 02:27 PM

Your back is going to be a bit tight/sore just from doing the lifting which is more than likely the issue.

You may be sore the next day because you likely dont workout your back like your other body parts.

It shouldnt be like a pain pain from doing the lift but more like a tight feeling.
Old 06-16-2007, 02:40 PM

Don't wear a workout belt. Keep your core tight and your lower back arched. If you begin to lose the arch or lose it, just leg go of the weight immediately. Doing that will pretty much remove any chance of moderate to serious injury. Delayed onset muscle soreness is to be expected and welcomed.
Old 06-16-2007, 03:14 PM

There's a difference between pain and soreness. Pain isn't good.