Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-04-2007, 06:51 PM

Default ? on how to leave a company after a short term of employement

All,

I graduated college in December 2006 BS Engineering and took a job out of state for a engineering consulting job. For the first 6 months of the job your basically training so that you can eventually do your job out in the field ( lots of traveling required). There are many great benefits such as company car where I pay nothing, yearly bonus, communication pacakage and decent vacation package.

I have had a change of heart and feel like changing job for several reasons:
-The job requires more travel than I am comfortable with
-The job requires no more than what a highschool diploma worker could provide. Im afraid that if I stay in here too long I will lose the knowledge that I received a degree for and potentially lose my attractiveness to any future employeres because of this.
-Ive been in a new town/state for almost 6 months and I haven't realy hungout/met more than 5 people more than I already knew here, because i'm out of town so much.

I guess im trying to justify to myself why I would like to leave this company, but I'm unsure how to actually go about it. I have all this home office equipment ( I work out of my house), car, etc. that would need to be returned. And because I have received ( plane tickets, lodging, meals, salary) so much more than I have provided to this company for 6 months, i'm unsure how they would respond.

So what would be the correct procedure to quietly, easily, and respectfully resign with as little interaction as possible?

Also this is a really big company so my leaving would not make that big of a splash so-to speak.

Thanks

Ian
Old 06-04-2007, 06:53 PM

Default Re: ? on how to leave a company after a short term of employement