Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Medium Stakes
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-29-2007, 11:40 AM

Default Swallowing my pride

Hey guys, what's up. I'm hopefully going to be sticking around MSNL for a while since I've decided that I need to start over. Shall I tell a story?

I started playing poker about 3 years ago. As with everything I become interested in, I researched it as much as I could before jumping in and depositing $50 to Stars. I luckboxed the .01/.02 NL (not much luck is needed to win there anyway) for a bit and then switched off to SNG's because I found them easier to grasp. I basically followed a script that someone cool on the SNG forum posted, and it was enough for me to win more than I lost. At some point, I moved back to cash games, and bounced between limit and no-limit for a while, eventually deciding (correctly) that limit was lame.

When I started playing no-limit cash games, I hopped over to Party and Crypto and consistently won at every level. That's basically what I did for about 2.5 years. I won at every level up to 25/50 Party and 40/80 GBP on Crypto (by the way, this was probably the best NL game to ever have existed online), and rarely felt overmatched. When I did feel that the game was too tough and not worth playing, I could easily find a new one and continue winning. At this point, I would realistically believe myself to have been in the top 100 online no-limit players in the world (although I almost never played below 4-handed).