Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-20-2006, 12:45 AM

Default Crossroads: Should I Bother with the Stock Market or Sports Betting?

Hi all,

I know just about nothing about either subject, but have recently been considering whether or not to bother with them. The reason I posted in this forum as opposed to sports betting is because I'm more interested in the stock market.

Background, if it matters: I have an undergrad education in computer science and math. I started studying poker in October 2004. I devoured about 50 or so primary and supplementary texts since I've started. I played about 30k LHE computer simulation hands starting in early January 2005 before wagering a penny. (I've always had an aversion to losing my money and a general dislike of gambling.)

I signed up for the free Royal Vegas Poker $10 in March 2005. I built that up to a nice bankroll that cost me a $100 initial deposit (to do their $50 initial deposit bonus). I started at the nickel-dime tables. Currently, I play up to $10-$20 when a game looks especially good, but usually a mix of $1-$2, $2-$4, and $3-$6 6-max. Also, I tend not to play a majority of my hands at sites that do not offer me a reasonable rakeback deal. However, I will clear the occasional reload bonus at some sites that I already have accounts with (e.g. Paradise Poker). I have not played a single poker hand in a card room yet, unless tiny ante home games count.

Due to my inexperience (about 200k real money hands), I still have a lot to learn. My knowledge of the game reasonable, I guess, but I still have psychological issues to resolve. For example, I have some issues with tilt (albeit I'm getting better dealing with it). Perhaps this is exaggerated due to the fact that I recently moved over to higher variance short handed tables.