Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Full Ring
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-23-2007, 02:24 PM

Default Only raising preflop? Never limp?

I posted this apparently in the wrong section of this forum (<--- PL/NL Texas Hold'em, Micro Stakes), so here is my second try [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] .

(1)Somewhere on this forum (I lost the direct link) I've red that on 25NL 6-handed you should raise every pair, Axs and every suited connector on the CO and the button. UTG you should tighten up and play only 22+, AQ+ and sometimes KQs. In middle position you should never openlimp, but always raise.

This leads to the fact that you seldom call, but almost always raise preflop? Is that right?

(2)I play 8-handed on CDPoker and on other sites I play fullring, how does this preflop raising strategy change for me then?

Maybe this is a stupid question, but I'm still learning...
Old 05-23-2007, 02:43 PM

Default Re: Only raising preflop? Never limp?

your 6max utg range is too tight with broadway hands

Old 05-23-2007, 02:59 PM

[ QUOTE ]
your 6max utg range is too tight with broadway hands

[/ QUOTE ]

Its OK for full ring UTG though.

[ QUOTE ]
(2)I play 8-handed on CDPoker and on other sites I play fullring, how does this preflop raising strategy change for me then?

[/ QUOTE ]

OK for 8 handed too.

[ QUOTE ]
This leads to the fact that you seldom call, but almost always raise preflop? Is that right?

[/ QUOTE ]

Yup.

Typical disclaimer applies: there is no "correct" way to play, and many people have success with widely different strategies. This is the party-line on TAG play, though, and you got it right... seldom call, almost always raise.
Old 05-23-2007, 03:02 PM

If it's folded to you and your hand is good enough to play, it's good enough to raise.
Old 05-23-2007, 03:12 PM

[ QUOTE ]
If it's folded to you and your hand is good enough to play, it's good enough to raise.