Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Poker > Omaha High
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-17-2007, 11:58 AM

Default Top set vs. possible straight on river - easy fold?

I'm quite new to PLO, and I'm finding that gauging where I am is much harder than in Hold'em. E.g. in this hand:

PokerStars Pot-Limit Omaha High, $0.25 BB (5 handed) internettexasholdem.com

UTG ($4.75)
MP ($25.70)
Button ($33.85)
SB ($25.65)
Hero ($26.80)

Preflop: Hero is BB with A[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img], J[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img], K[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img], K[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img].
UTG calls $0.25, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, Button calls $0.25, SB completes, Hero checks.

Flop: ($1) K[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img], 6[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img], Q[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(4 players)</font>
SB checks, <font color="#CC3333">Hero bets $0.95</font>, UTG folds, Button calls $0.95, SB folds.

Turn: ($2.90) 8[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">Hero bets $1.5</font>, Button calls $1.50.

River: ($5.90) 4[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">Hero bets $2.75</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Button raises to $8</font>, Hero ???

This may be a very basic PLO situation. Would you slow down on the river when the straight draw hit? In Hold'em I wouldn't expect UTG to call along with 7-5, but it's much more feasible with four cards, where my opponent could be on an ace- or king-high straight or flush draw and then backed into a lower straight. Sorry if this is excessively basic...
Old 05-17-2007, 12:13 PM

Default Re: Top set vs. possible straight on river - easy fold?