Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Student Life
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-15-2007, 06:23 PM

Default Dropoff on GPA from HS to College - Standard?

I was an honors high school graduate, and things in high school came easily to me for the most part. Now that I've finished my first year of college, my GPA is a 2.635 or somethin like that. I'm in the honors program at my college, but I don't think those classes dropped my average. Is this normal, maybe just me getting used to the changes? I think I need to pick it up next semester for sure. This just makes me semi-depressed about my grades. Comments welcomed/appreciated.
Old 05-15-2007, 06:27 PM

Default Re: Dropoff on GPA from HS to College - Standard?

that's pretty sick. averaging between a B and a C is not normal for an honors student. what do you attribute your grades to? lack of understanding, lack of effort? lack of time? you need to figure that out first.
Old 05-15-2007, 06:38 PM

I would guess this is not standard at all.

My gpa went up in college - though I am a corp. finance major and not engineering or something more difficult.
Old 05-15-2007, 07:39 PM

my GPA dropped in college, but i suspect that the dropoff started senior year of high school (where i slacked too much) and it sortve carried over to college.
Old 05-15-2007, 07:41 PM

my GPA has stayed pretty constant from high school through two years of college, as has the GPA of friends. So I'm guessing it isn't very standard.
Old 05-15-2007, 08:40 PM

I went from a solid 3.6-3.7 student in HS to around a 3.0 through the first few years of college. What do I attribute this to?

1) Not caring about stupid [censored] generals. I really don't see how sitting in a class for an hour a day 3 days a week getting told I'm the devil for being a white man is helping me grow. So I didn't go much and half-assed it when I did.