Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Tournament Poker > MTT Community
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-13-2007, 03:18 AM

Default Coping with Poker

Hi everyone,

Im after some advice....

I am currently in my final year of university (college) and will be finished in a couple of weeks to which the big wide world will become my so-called oyster!

I am in a fortunate position of having a very good job lined up for when I finish and this company offers you the opportunity to take a 'gap year' before you start your job the following year. As such, I am toying with the possibility of taking a year (15 months in reality) off before I start, in which I would plan to play poker as my primary source of income (basically, I would want to become [censored]-hot, earn a shed loads of money, play lots of live events all over the place), and mix in some stints of travelling in those 15 months as well.

However, I do have some major concerns about playing poker on a more 'professional' basis, even if it is for a relatively short amount of time. Up to this point, poker has definitely been simply a hobby for me, playing when I have the time, and playing for enjoyment. I have never really spent considerable amounts of time playing poker 'non-stop', there have been occasional weeks here and there where I have played, what I would consider alot (compared to my normal amount), but I know would not compare to any professional's volume.
From these time where I have played considerably more than usual, I have some serious concerns arising from them about playing poker more long term (a year is a long time!) and wanted to hear about some of the coping strategies you guys who play 'for a living' (or others for that matter) use to deal with the problems that are intrinsic to playing online poker e.g. stress, feelings of isolation, managing your social relationships (friends and girlfriends), etc...

For example,