Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Poker > Omaha/8
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-07-2007, 03:01 AM

Default First Post, 2.2k hands into learning Omaha 8

After depositing 10 bucks on Pokerstars, I dabbled a bit in microstakes no limit holdem, but after reading about Omaha 8 a bit I thought that would be of more interest to me. Desiring to learn the game, I purchased a copy of SuperSystem 2 and read the Omaha 8 chapter a few times. I also found a few strategy websites/articles on the internet that were very helpful.

I initially started with play money, just to get practice on reading my hand, what the nuts were, and to generally get a feel for game. I graduated to the .02/.04 limit tables, and won a modest amount initially, mostly by virtue of my tight preflop standards. I was still making quite a few mistakes misreading my hands, but maintained a disciplined approach (only drawing to the nuts at this stage).

After about 800 hands, the frequency of my mistakes decreased to the point where I felt comfortable at the .05/10 games. At this level I began to take a more methodical approach, making an effort to accurately calculate my outs quickly, and in my head. Previously, it would take me a good 10 seconds to a) figure out my hand and b) find my outs.

I continued my success at this level with this new approach, and soon graduated to the .10/.20 tables after 800ish hands at .05/.10.

The .10/.20 tables is where I am currently playing, and I have seen no dropoff in donks so far. I have now added another dimension to my game in that I am actively thinking about my opponents holdings (previously, I would just take a math based approach on my own hand).

I now also review certain hands/sessions in PTO, looking for mistakes and leaks. I keep a notebook near me when I play with a) an outs/pot odds chart and b) a space for me to jot down questionable decisions and situations which I hope to review later.