Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-04-2007, 04:30 PM

Default Go Pro? (Semi) -Please Read-

Ok guys, I would really like your advice / tips / input / comments on this one. I very much appreciate it.

I have been playing in a $1/$2 NL home cash game for about a month now. I started by winning their Sunday $50 tourney for $400. Sat down at the cash game the following Monday and haven’t looked back since. I have got my Bank Roll up to almost $2,000 now.

Basically, I can confidently sit down at 7:00pm (when the cash game starts every night) and leave by 11:00 +$100-$200. My question is: Summer vacation (I’m a college student) starts in about 6 weeks. I will have 3 months in which I would normally get a summer job – doing excavation work, maybe landscaping, etc. probably making about $10 an hour. I am quite confident however that I could make this cash game my full-time summer job.

Obviously there are some risks to this - I know that. However the game is full of rich business owners (who are actually pretty cool guys) who have loads of money and suck at poker. I am by far the best player who ever plays at that cash game. What are some things I should do, need to think about, need to consider, should prepare for, etc. Basically I want to have this 100% thought out if/when I decide to do this.

------------------------------------------------
Feel free to respond after reading thus far --- more info on the subject if you want –
-----------------------------------------------

Okay, the house is very nice. It’s four guys who deal full time (the dealers don’t play) who rent this house and pay for it + make money themselves just from the tips the players give to the dealers. There are two tables and a kitchen loaded with snacks, cokes, beer, etc. It’s a very friendly place – not shady at all.