Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Brick and Mortar
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-26-2007, 08:37 AM

Default Just worked as a poker dealer (trip report)

I am not a poker dealer by profession, but I have always thought it would be interesting to do, as would any other dealing job.
Today I was hired to deal poker at a high school party, while explaining the rules if needed. Interestingly, even the 12 year olds didn't need any explanation. They would checkraise their grandmother if they needed to. Of course, playing with play chips made it a little easier.

There was one thing I noticed in dealing that I found interesting. At times I would be so busy controlling the action that I had no clue what the board cards were and I really had to take some time at showdown to figure out what the winning hand was. I can only imagine how much harder it is if you have to deal omaha. I guess knowing the board and thus knowing possible winning hands while controlling the action will come naturally over time, but I can very well understand now why dealers sometimes need a little more time at showdown.

Since it was all play money I also had plenty of practice with side pots, which was very interesting to do. I think I made them all correctly, even used the chips as pointers idea I read in Al Capone's post recently, but I'm not sure if I used the correct method. Sometimes I calculated what should be added to the main pot, sometimes I calculated what should be in the side pot, whichever was easier to do. I think the former is the correct way to handle it?

Just wanted to say that being a dealer opened up a new perspective and I will probably appreciate it even more when I see a dealer who can handle things smoothly. And also understand why sometimes it doesn't go as smooth.

Peter
Old 04-26-2007, 08:58 AM

Default Re: Just worked as a poker dealer (trip report)