Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Student Life
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-25-2007, 02:44 PM

Default working while in school

soliciting opinions:

a little background...i'm a 27 year old ugrad...when i was 18, i went to a music conservatory...burned out after 3.5 years (i had been playing the violin for 18 years) took a few years off working fulltime in a restaurant to figure out what the heck i was gonna do with the rest of my life...moved to san francisco after 2 years and here i am now....

i was having a discussion with a friend about working while in school. she feels i should be compelled to work or at least feel some sort of obligation. she makes it sound like only losers don't work while in school. i, otoh, say why bother? my parents are willing to pay my rent, i do work one day a week at a deli to make some spending cash and basically have my finances covered. i ain't saving anything, but i'm also not spiraling into debt.

opinions? what are your general attitudes towards working while in school? also consider the fact that I'm not going into the job market after ugrad (so internship/work experience doesn't matter even though I have interned for a large ibank and a small local bank) but am instead looking to grad school programs (stats) where work experience is irrelevant. I should also add that I DO work during the summer months...i just keep the load down during the school months. Also, I've only got the time to reasonably add one or maybe two full-time shifts to my schedule without my grades suffering.
Old 04-25-2007, 03:05 PM

Default Re: working while in school