Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Golf
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-24-2007, 11:07 PM

Default Knock-offs

Does anyone here have any experience with knock-off clubs? I see them all the time on Ebay. I'm assuming that they're not as good as the real thing, but can anyone confirm?
Old 04-25-2007, 02:31 AM

Default Re: Knock-offs

I've been using ping G2 knock-offs for several years now. I just recently tried the real thing, and the only difference I noticed was cosmetic.

Quality may differ from knock-off to knock-off, but I honestly have a hard time believing brand-name clubs are going to play any better than knock-offs. Provided the clubs are a proper fit to you, I don't see any problem in playing with "fakes." I've had good success with them.

I should note that I did not buy my clubs off Ebay. A friend of my father runs a golf shop out of his garage, and I bought them though him.
Old 04-25-2007, 04:10 AM

Pinemeadow golf.

Best knockoff clubs I have EVER used (other than a set of Rawlings Fairway Woods I used in high school)...

Great Prices and Great Customer Service in my experiences there.

pinemeadowgolf.com i believe is the correct address...
Old 04-25-2007, 04:45 AM

The one thing I've noticed about knock-offs is that they seem to break a lot easier than the name brand clubs.

I think pretty much every one of my friends in high school with knock off clubs doesn't have a full set b/c he's snapped a head off the club or something totally random.
Old 04-25-2007, 07:06 AM

[ QUOTE ]
Quality may differ from knock-off to knock-off

[/ QUOTE ]

The quality is ENTIRELY dependant on who made it.

Most knockoffs are inferior quality. Ask yourself this: If a company had the ability to make a product as good as the top name brands, why wouldn't they create their own brand identity and market it?