Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Beats, Brags, and Variance
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-24-2007, 08:58 AM

Default Variance or playing badly?

Is this variance or (as I suspect) have I just started playing like crap?

Playing mainly $50 NL short-handed, some $25.

The high point was 19th December 2006. Running 18 PTBB/100 till then. -5 PTBB/100 over 18k hands since.

Old 04-24-2007, 09:03 AM

Default Re: Variance or playing badly?

Looks like a little of both. Move up to where they respect your raises and you'll get it back in no time.

Serious part: This is a small sample size, many grinders play more than this in a month and still wind up having losing months sometimes. If you are playing well you'll pull out if it, not that it's much of a swing to begin with. If you feel like you're honestly playing pretty well then maybe work harder on table selection.
Old 04-24-2007, 09:04 AM

Move to limit, way less swingy than this.
Old 04-24-2007, 10:40 AM

I bet that monkey in your avatar plays better.
Old 04-24-2007, 10:41 AM

[ QUOTE ]
Looks like a little of both. Move up to where they respect your raises and you'll get it back in no time.

Serious part: This is a small sample size, many grinders play more than this in a month and still wind up having losing months sometimes. If you are playing well you'll pull out if it, not that it's much of a swing to begin with. If you feel like you're honestly playing pretty well then maybe work harder on table selection.

[/ QUOTE ]

Thanks for the tips... heh, moving up because I'm playing bad probably not the greatest plan, although my shots at $100 and $200 NL have been quite successful, maybe because I play tighter and more carefully.