Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-16-2006, 05:35 PM

Default terrible bosses

in my career of part-time joe-jobs I think I've had downright terrible luck with bosses. my first job was at a sandwich shop, and my boss made it seem like I was working the floor at a stock exchange. (and that I was sucking at it.) later on I worked as a handyman for my town's parks department, and my boss made it very apparent to me that not only was I screwing up at everything I did, but that the world would end if I didn't get on top of it. last summer I did construction/remodeling for a landlord who eventually turned into a really good friend of mine, but had extraordinarily high standards and no concept of how long it took to finish a job. I liked him compared with the others, but one of my friends (who happened to be a very skilled and hard-working dude) said he was the worst boss he'd ever had.

I don't mind working for perfectionists, because I'm generally one myself, but these guys don't take any blame for the things that go wrong and put it all on me. however I'm graduating college this spring and am not really looking forward to having a [censored] boss.

so,

what are your bosses like? what do I have to look forward to? how do you deal with bosses who put the blame on you? how do you manage these situations constructively? any anecdotes, advice, etc are appreciated.
Old 02-16-2006, 05:47 PM

Default Re: terrible bosses

[ QUOTE ]
my first job was at a sandwich shop, and my boss made it seem like I was working the floor at a stock exchange. (and that I was sucking at it.)

[/ QUOTE ]